Mid-November 2013 | The Countdown and Black Friday

Nancy was slated to spend Thanksgiving with Lana and her family; Dave would spend the holiday with his own. At least, that was the original plan. The night before Thanksgiving, we met at Starbucks to talk. Months later I would ask Nancy if this was going to be the night that she lowered the boom on me. Don’t forget about the countdown: 30 days in November for her to pull the trigger.

Despite Dave and Nancy’s visit to lawyers and arbitration, a change of heart was in order. I learned that she decided to nix spending turkey day with her family, and, instead, spend it with his family. Again, I had a sneaking suspicion and intuition that did not prove wrong.

On Black Friday, Nancy sent me a text message: “I’m going two feet in my marriage. I’m sorry.”

Just like that, I was history. “Two feet in” for her, and “two feet out” for me.

I asked her to call me. She gave me scattered reasons for why she ended our relationship, but did say in a desperate voice, “I want another baby.” I asked her what about having a baby together? Silence was my answer. She also cited pressure from her family to return home to him and not divorce. She felt guilty for leaving because of his mental illness.

I was devastated. I would later come out to my family for the first time in my life, as I was rocked by swelling emotions and could not conceal my tragic disappointment.

In my heart, it was not over. It still isn’t. 

I was given no choice or option. She put an end to our relationship, our future, and me. 

2 thoughts on “Mid-November 2013 | The Countdown and Black Friday

  1. This story is so heartbreaking! You write beautifully about it though. I hope you find someone who just worships you and wants no one but you! You sound like a lovely person and you deserve much more than Nancy was ever able to give.

    Like

Leave a comment